De facto Tskhinvali closes two ‘crossing points’ with rest of Georgia, citing ‘tension’ as reason

  • De facto Tskhinvali government did not say when the crossing points will reopen.Photo:, 10 Sep 2019 - 11:23, Tbilisi,Georgia

The de facto Tskhinvali government has announced the closure of two crossing points with the rest of Georgia, saying the reason is an ‘escalation of tension at certain sections of the border with Georgia.’

The so-called security committee of Tskhinvali has accused Tbilisi of sparking the tension, stating that the crossing points will reopen when the tension fades.

The closure is for the security of locals and will concern the crossing points near the villages of Razdakhani and Sinaguri,” the agency said.

Tskhinvali stated on September 4 that Tbilisi was building a new police post in the village of Perevi, in the west of the country, bordering the village of Sinaguri which is now under the Russian control.

The Georgian State Security Service denied the reports, saying that an existing police post would be relocated on Tbilisi-administered territory and the de facto government of Tskhivali had been informed about the change several times.

Tskhinvali was remanding the removal of a police post from the village of Chorchana, on the Tbilisi-administered territory, in  Khashuri municipality, which Tbilisi refused to meet. Video by EUMM, reflecting patrolling in the forest of Chorchana.

On September 6 the central Georgian government confirmed that Tskhinvali opened a new police post on the Tbilisi-administered territory, near the village of Chorchana, Khashuri municipality.

The central Georgian government says that the closure of the crossing points further escalated tension on the ground and created serious problems for locals who are unable to visit the rest of the country for their everyday necessities.

Tskhinvali and the Georgian region of Abkhazia have been recognised as independent states by Russia, Venezuela, Nicaragua, Nauru and Syria after the Russia-Georgia 2008 war.

The rest of the international community says that the regions are occupied by Russia.