UN Security Council members condemn Russian occupation of Georgian territories ahead of 12th anniversary of 2008 war

 The UN Security Council has discussed the situation in Georgia 12 years since the Russia-Georgia 2008 war.

Agenda.ge, 06 Aug 2020 - 11:02, Tbilisi,Georgia

Belgium, Estonia, France, Germany, UK, US, Ireland and Norway have expressed support for Georgia following the UN Security Council’s online meeting yesterday, which discussed developments since the Russia-Georgia 2008 war.

The countries condemned Russia’s occupation of Georgian territories, creeping occupation, the illegal detention of Georgian citizens and other unlawful activities by the Russian-controlled occupation forces over the past 12 years. 

Georgian Foreign Minister David Zalkaliani tweeted: