Bulgaria ratifies Georgia-EU Association Agreement

Georgia's Parliament will ratify AA tomorrow. International officials will attend the event. Photo by N.Alavidze/Agenda.ge
Agenda.ge, 25 Jul 2014 - 13:08, Tbilisi,Georgia

Bulgaria is the latest country to ratify the Georgia-European Union (EU) Association Agreement (AA).

At a Parliamentary session today, the National Assembly of Bulgaria became the fourth European country to ratify the AA with Georgia, Ukraine and Moldova.

The vast majority of Members of Bulgarian Parliament voted to ratify the agreement today, said the press centre of Georgia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The main topic of discussion at today’s Bulgarian Parliament session was the resignation of Cabinet member Plamen Oresharski however the ratification of the three AA was pushed to the top of the agenda.

Bulgaria is the fourth EU member country to ratify the agreement, after Latvia, Lithuania and Romania.

The AA deals were signed by Georgia, Ukraine and Moldova and EU representatives in Brussels on June 27 in Brussels.

EU association deals need to be ratified by all 28 EU member countries before they can be fully implemented.