Latvia ratifies Georgia’s EU agreement

Georgians celebrated signing of AA on June 27. Photo by N.Alavidze/, 14 Jul 2014 - 17:32, Tbilisi,Georgia

Parliament of Latvia has unanimously ratified European Union (EU) Association Agreements (AA) with Georgia, Ukraine and Moldova.

In Parliament today, 81 voted in favour of ratifying the documents and no one voted against it, which resulted in Latvia’s Parliament adopting the article.

Latvia always supported the earliest possible European Union Association Agreements with Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine. It is a symbolic fact that [our] Parliament is one of the first national parliaments, which planned to ratify these agreements, said Ojars Eriks Kalnins, chairman of Latvia’s Foreign Affairs Committee.

After Parliament ratified the agreements Kalnins went online and shared the news.

Latvia is the third EU member country to ratify the agreement, after Lithuania and Romania.

The AA deals were signed by the three countries and EU representatives in Brussels on June 27.

EU association deals need to be ratified by all 28 EU countries before they can be fully implemented.