European Parliament ready to ratify Georgia-EU AA deal in December

The AA deals were signed by Georgia, Ukraine and Moldova and EU representatives in Brussels on June 27., 08 Oct 2014 - 12:10, Tbilisi,Georgia

The European Parliament is ready to ratify the Georgia-European Union (EU) Association Agreement (AA) by the beginning of December, says a Georgian official.

On a working trip to Brussels, State Minister of Georgia on European and Euro-Atlantic Integration Alex Petriashvili attended bilateral meetings at the European Parliament and European Council, which was the official body responsible for defining the general political direction and priorities of the EU.

"There is full support at the European Parliament to ratify the Georgia-EU AA deal at the end of this year, more particularly in the beginning of December,” Petriashvili said after the meetings.

Petriashvili talked with managing director of the European External Action Service for Europe and Central Asia Luis Felipe Fernaandez de la Penna, European Parliament’s Committee on Foreign Affairs chairman Elmar Brok and European Commissioner for Regional Policy Johannes Hahn.

The parties discussed Georgia's EU integration process. In particular, the sides underlined the significance of implementing activities envisaged under the Association Agenda.

Discussions touched upon the current situation in the region and existing threats and challenges posed to Eastern Partnership countries. Attention was also paid to the preparations towards the Riga Eastern Partnership Summit in 2015.

Regarding the expectations of the Summit, Petriashvili underscored the importance of the EU Member States' support, as well as granting European perspective to Ukraine, Moldova and Georgia and establishment of a visa-free regime for Georgian citizens.

Within the framework of the visit, the State Minister delivered a speech at an event organised by the European Policy Center (EPC), which was attended by accredited missions in Brussels, international non-governmental organisations, media representatives and experts.

The Georgian State Minister participated in a discussion on "Georgia 2008-Ukraine 2014: Implications of the Euro-Atlantic Choice" and answered questions from the audience.

The AA deals were signed by Georgia, Ukraine and Moldova and EU representatives in Brussels on June 27.

The EU association deals need to be ratified by all 28 EU member countries and the European Parliament before they can be fully implemented. Georgia’s EU deal has been ratified by five EU countries.