Ireland ratifies EU-Georgia Association Agreement

The Dáil Éireann lower house of Irish Parliament ratifies EU-Georgia Association deal., 28 Jan 2015 - 15:20, Tbilisi,Georgia

Ireland is the latest country to ratify the Georgia-European Union (EU) Association Agreement (AA), that was signed in June last year.

Last week the Georgian-EU treaty was considered by the Dáil Éireann lower house of the Irish Parliament (Oireachtas) by Ireland's Select Committee on Foreign Affairs and Trade.

The vast majority of Dáil Éireann members voted to ratify EU AA deals with Georgia, Ukraine and Moldova, stated the press centre of Georgia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The AA deals were all signed on June 27, 2014 in Brussels. 

Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine have already ratified their respective agreements. The ratification process is currently continuing in EU member states.  

European Parliament approved the EU-Georgia deal on December 18, 2014.

To date 12 EU member states have already ratified AA deals between Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine with the EU. These countries are: Ireland, Denmark, Sweden, Croatia, Romania, Hungary, Estonia, Slovakia, Malta, Latvia, Lithuania and Bulgaria.

EU Association deals need to be ratified by all 28 EU member countries before they can be fully implemented.