Georgia, Russia temporarily ban travel due to coronavirus

  • Georgia has also temporarily closed borders with its neighbouring Armenia, Azerbaijan and Turkey. Photo: Nino Alavidze/, 15 Mar 2020 - 19:04, Tbilisi,Georgia

Georgia and Russia will temporarily ban travel from March 16 to prevent the spread of the coronavirus.

Georgian PM's Special Representative in Relations with Russia Zurab Abashidze discussed the measures to prevent the spread of the COVID-19 with former Russian Deputy Foreign Minister Grigory Karasin at a phone conversation earlier today. 

No restrictions will apply to cargo transportation. 

Yesterday Georgia also closed borders with neighbouring Armenia and Azerbaijan for ten days to prevent the spread of COVID-19. 

Movement will also be temporarily restricted at the Sarpi customs checkpoint that is located in the south-west of Georgia on the border with Turkey. However, Vale and Kartsakhi customs checkpoints will operate as usual.

Moreover, flights will also be suspended between Georgia and Turkey from March 20.