CEC officially announces November 21 as a day of run offs

  • Parlaiemntary elections were held in Georgia on October 31. However, as not all of the majoritarian candidates managed to overcome the mandatory 1% threshold the second round of elections are supposed to be held at 17 majoritarian constituencies. Photo: Nino Alavidze/Agenda.ge

Agenda.ge, 14 Nov 2020 - 12:42, Tbilisi,Georgia

The Central Election Commission (CEC) has announced that the second round of parliamentary elections will be held in Georgia on November 21. 

The CEC announced late yesterday that a majoritarian race will be held in 17 out of the total 30 constituencies; mayoral by-elections will also be held in Kutaisi. 

Below is the list of majoritarian candidates running in 17 constituencies:

 Mtatsminda/Krtsanisi constituency

  • Shalva Shavgulidze - European Georgia
  • Beka Odisharia - Georgian Dream

Vake constituency

  • Elene Khoshtaria - European Georgia
  • Nodar Turdzeladze - Georgian Dream

Saburtalo constituency

  • Aleksandre Elisashvili - Citizens
  • Davit Sergeenko - Georgian Dream

Isani constituency

  • Khatia Dekanoidze - United National Movement/Strength in Unity
  • Kakha Kakhishvili - Georgian Dream

Samgori constituency

  • Levan Khabeishvili - United National Movement/Strength in Unity
  • Sozar Subari - Georgian Dream


  • Zurab Japaridze - Girchi
  • Giorgi Volski - Georgian Dream

Nadzaladevi constituency

  • Shalva Natelashvili - Labour Party
  • Mikheil Kavelashvili - Georgian Dream

Gldani constituency

  • Nika Melia - United National Movement/Strength in Unity
  • Levan Kobiashvili - Georgian Dream

Telavi/Akhmeta/Kvareli/Lagodekhi constituency

  • Giorgi Botkoveli - United National Movement/Strength in Unity
  • Irakli Kadagishvili -GeorgianDream

Mtskheta/Dusheti/Tianeti/Kazbegi constituency

  • Tsezar Chocheli - United National Movement/Strength in Unity
  • Shalva Kereselidze - Georgian Dream

Rustavi/Gardabani constituency

  • Davit Kirkitadze - United National Movement/Strength in Unity
  • Nino Latsabidze

Khashuri/Kareli constituency

  • Nato Chkheidze - United National Movement/Strength in Unity
  • Zaal Dugladze - Georgian Dream

Zestaponi/Tkibuli/Terjola/Baghdati constituency

  • Kakha Getsadze - United National Movement/Strength in Unity
  • Bezhan Tsakadze - Georgian Dream

Kutaisi constituency

  • Grigol Vashadze - United National Movement/Strength in Unity
  • Zaza Lominadze - Georgian Dream

Zugdidi constituency 

  • Malkhaz Jalaghonia - United National Movement/Strength in Unity
  • Irakli Chikovani - Georgian Dream

Batumi constituency 

  • Levan Varshalomidze - United National Movement/Strength in Unity
  • resan Kontselidze - Georgian Dream

Khelvachauri/Keda/Shuakhevi/Khulo constituency

  • Misha Bolkvadze - United National Movement/Strength in Unity
  • Anzor Bolkvadze - Georgian Dream

Meanwhile, the United National Movement/Strength in Unity candidate Grigol Shushania and the ruling party candidate Ioseb Khakhaleishvili will be running for the mayoral by-elections in Kutaisi. 

A total of 1,914 polling stations will open for voters on November 21, along with 9 exceptional precincts and 81 special precincts for those who are going under treatment at hospitals and are in quarantine or self-isolating due to coronavirus. 

Those in need of mobile ballot boxes should apply to the CEC at 2 51-00-51 (0) between 10 a.m. and 8 p.m. on November 15-16 and between 10 a.m. and 6 p.m. on November 17. 

Photo: Nino alavidze/Agenda.ge

Nevertheless, opposition politicians whose parties have overcome the mandatory 1% threshold for the parliamentary seats do not accept the official election results published by the CEC, demand CEC chair Tamar Zhvania to resign and repeat elections be held. 

However, the ruling party states that the elections were conducted ‘in full line with democratic standards’ and advises the opposition to accept the election results in a dignified manner. 

Members of the ruling Georgian Dream and eight opposition parties who have overcome the threshold are holding the second meeting with the mediation of the diplomatic corps today. 

The parties first met on November 12 to address the current political crisis in the country. However, no certain agreement has then been made. 

Claiming they will not stop protesting, opposition representatives are hold a large-scale rally in front of the parliament of Georgia today to remind the ruling party leader Bidzina Ivanishvili ‘that the opposition will not accept election results’.