All 28 EU member countries ratify Georgia-EU Association Agreement

  • Belgium was the final EU nation to ratify Georgia’s Association Agreement with the EU. Photo by the, 24 Dec 2015 - 17:48, Tbilisi,Georgia

All 28 member states of the European Union (EU) have ratified Georgia’s Association Agreement (AA) with the EU, confirms Georgia’s Parliament Speaker David Usupashvili.

This afternoon Usupashvili announced Belgium – the final EU state to sign the Georgia-EU deal – had penned the agreement this morning. Through this step, the Georgia-EU AA ratification process was completed.

Georgia's Minister of Defence Tinatin Khidasheli shared this good news on her official Twiiter account:

The Federal Parliament of Brussels, Belgium has ratified the deal. The last, formal, procedure for completing the process is for news about the ratification to be published in a local newspaper, but as I said, this is just a formality,” announced Georgia's Ambassador to EU Natalia Sabanadze.

Now Georgia must wait for the release of this information, but this was expected to happen in the coming days, before the end of the year, the Ambassador added.

Georgia signed its AA deal with the EU in June 2014.

Part of the AA came into force on September 1, 2014. However, the deal could not fully come into play until all 28 EU nations ratified the deal.