Georgian Independence Day to be celebrated around the world

  • The main visitor icon of Brussels, the Manneken Pis, dressed in the Georgian chokha national costume. Photo: MFA of Georgia, 25 May 2023 - 14:31, Tbilisi,Georgia

Countries around the world will join celebrations for Georgia’s Independence Day on Friday with events, while their landmarks will be illuminated in national colours of the country for the date.

From the Niagara Waterfall in Canada to the Izmir Clock Tower in Turkey, the Central Square of Nicosia in Cyprus and the central fountain in Barcelona, Spain, monuments and buildings will light up the white-and-red of the Georgian national flag. 

Other locations will include the National Carillon building in Australia, the central bridges and Kaunas Town Hall in Lithuania, the building of legislative body in Argentina and the Abu Dhabi National Oil Company in the United Arab Emirates.

Saudi Arabia’s Kingdom Tower, Azerbaijan’s Heydar Aliyev Centre, South Korea’s Seoul City Hall Building and Dublin’s Samuel Beckett bridge in Ireland are also among the landmarks, along with Bulgaria’s National Palace of Culture, and the Athens central fountain and the Thessaloniki City Hall building in Greece.

Finally, the building of Košice and the historic facade of the Georgian Embassy in Slovakia, and the national monument and fountain in Indonesia will also be illuminated.

The Georgian flag will also be displayed on the billboards in the Armenian capital Yerevan and in New York, San Francisco and Bari, Italy. 

In Belgium, the customary ceremony will see Brussels’ Manneken-Pis dressed in the Georgian national costume chokha, while in the Netherlands, Georgian music will be heard from the belfry of The Hague.

Cultural, educational and entertainment events for the date are planned in the US, Azerbaijan, Japan, Romania, Switzerland, Austria, Hungary, Brazil, Cuba, Germany, Denmark, UK, Italy, France, Spain, Portugal, Estonia, Czech Republic, Croatia, Poland, Latvia, Slovenia, Moldova, Serbia, Norway, Sweden, Finland, Egypt, Qatar, Israel, Jordan, Iran, Argentina, Mexico, Malaysia, China, India, Ethiopia, Turkmenistan, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan and Genova.

These programmes will run with the involvement of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Georgia and diplomatic corps in foreign countries.