Two more opposition MPs enter parliament

  • MP Aleko Elisashvili (R ) has stated that his party has reached an agreement on the election system reform with the ruling party. Photo: netgazeti., 29 Jan 2021 - 16:26, Tbilisi,Georgia

Opposition MPs from Citizens party Aleko Elisashvili and Levan Ioseliani have decided to enter parliament, Elisashvili has confirmed with journalists earlier today. 

Only four of 60 opposition MPs have entered parliament so far since the elections on October 31. 

Now Elisashvili and Ioseliani will join the four former members of the Alliance of Patriots opposition party in the state legislature. 

Other opposition MPs say that the October 31 parliamentary elections in Georgia were fabricated and are demanding repeat elections. 

Leaders of several opposition parties have accused Elisashvili of 'playing the government's game.' Photo: Nino Alavidze/ 

Fifty-one of the 60 opposition MPs have already requested the suspension of their MP status. 

Elisashvili says that he and Ioseliani have agreed on the ‘fundamental reform’ of the country’s election system with the ruling Georgian Dream party. 

He stated that the election reform ‘will exclude any fabrications and the election results will be known for people as soon as polling stations are closed.’ 

Elisashvili said that per the agreement all opposition parties will have their representatives in central, precinct and district election commissions.’