One opposition MP to enter legislature of Adjara Autonomous Republic


Irakli Chavleishvili is one of seven opposition MPs who received seats in Adjara legislature. Photo: Batumelebi., 16 Dec 2020 - 14:07, Tbilisi,Georgia

One opposition MP has decided to enter the Supreme Council of Adjara which is the legislative body of Georgia’s Autonomous Republic of Adjara in the west. 

Irakli Chavleishvili has stated that he has left the Republican Party which was the part of the United National Movement opposition election bloc in the October 31 parliamentary elections and that he will enter the legislature. 

Chavleishvili wrote on Facebook yesterday that he has been an MP three times in Adjara and there were cases when he was the only member of the opposition in the legislature. 

He stated that his views on the refusal to take up mandates in the legislature did not match with his party intentions. 

Irakli Chavleishvili says that time will show whether his decision was right. Photo: Batumelebi. 

The leaders of the Republican Party stated that they regretted Chavleishvili’s decision, adding that other MPs from the party have officially requested parliament to suspend their status (Khatuna Samnidze and Tamar Kordzaia). 

The Supreme Council of Adjara is composed of 21 MPs. 

The ruling Georgian Dream party received 14 seats in the Supreme Council of Adjara following the elections, while the United National Movement-Strength in Unity election bloc received the remaining seven seats. 

The United National Movement-Strength in Unity election bloc received 36 seats in the Georgian parliament. 

However, earlier today they requested the parliament to suspend the status of their MPs. 

The opposition bloc says that the elections were fabricated and are demanding repeat elections.