Georgia condemns adoption of program on creation of common socio-economic space between Russia, occupied Abkhazia

Georgian Foreign Ministry says that the adoption of the programme is ‘yet another provocation by Russia.’ Photo: Foreign Ministry press office., 25 Nov 2020 - 12:59, Tbilisi,Georgia

Georgia has condemned the adoption of a plan to create a common socio-economic space between Russia and the Russian-occupied Abkhazia region of Georgia which comes after the meeting of Russian President Vladimir Putin and De-facto President of Abkhazia Aslan Bzhania on November 12. 

The Georgian Foreign Ministry has stated that ‘it is yet another step taken by Russia towards the annexation of Georgian territories.’ 

The ministry said that the so-called agreement on Alliance and Strategic Partnership between Russia and occupied Abkhazia signed back in 2014 and all documents and programmes made per the agreement are unlawful and contradict international law.