4 cities to be placed under lockdown - what will be the exceptions?

The measures aim to prevent the further spread of the coronavirus in Georgia. Photo: Interior Ministry press office. 

Agenda.ge, 15 Apr 2020 - 12:15, Tbilisi,Georgia

Starting 9 p.m. today the four main cities of Georgia - Tbilisi, Batumi, Kutaisi and Rustavi -  will be placed under lockdown, preventing people from leaving or entering the cities for ten days at least. 

Who will be exempt from this rule? 

  • Medical workers.
  • Local and international freight trucks.
  • Members of the diplomatic corps.
  • Prison staff (when they have to transport a suspect, convict). 
  • Employees of electricity, water, gas and telecommunication fields, as well as the people providing postal services and managing waste. 
  • Journalists, when they are carrying out their professional duties.
  • People will be able to transport and bury deceased people in the cities.
  • International, humanitarian missions.
  • Private guards on duty.
  • Public servants or individuals whose free movement are critically important (the people will be placed on a special list).
  • People who are registered in the municipalities under the lockdown will be able to enter the municipalities, while people who are registered in other municipalities will be able to leave the municipalities which will be placed under lockdown. 

Coronavirus cases stand at 306 in Georgia as of today. 69 of the 306 people have recovered, while three other patients, elderly people with several underlying illnesses, have died. 

As of today Georgia has 232 active cases of the virus.