Georgia’s new Cabinet of Ministers formed,
Ready for Parliament vote

  • Acting PM Giorgi Kvirikahsvili presents new Cabinet of Ministers. Screenshot from Georgia's Public Broadcaster video footage., 22 Nov 2016 - 14:23, Tbilisi,Georgia

Who are the people nominated as the new Cabinet of Ministers in the Government of Georgia?

A short time ago Georgia’s Acting Prime Minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili presented his nominees for Cabinet of Ministers of Georgia.

There are three new names in Cabinet, while one Minister has switched from one ministry to another.

  • Dimitry Kumsishvili who was formerly the country's Minister of Economy, has been named as the country's new Minister of Finance Minister, replacing Nodar Khaduri.

The three new names are:

  • Giorgi Gakharia, as the Minister of Economy. He is a current Business Ombudsman and would replace Kumsishvili in the role;
  • Zurab Alavidze as new Minister of Regional Development and Infrastructure, replacing Nodar Javakhishvili; and
  • Viktor Dolidze, a former member of Free Democrats opposition party, as new State Minister of European and Euro-Atlantic Integration, replacing David Bakradze who was appointed as Georgia’s Ambassador to the United States.

Georgia’s Parliament must now vote for the new Cabinet of Ministers. Kvirikashvili and the new ministers will need the support of at least 76 lawmakers in the 150-seat legislative body to be officially confirmed.

See profiles of the new minister nominees here. 

The proposed new Cabinet of Georgia, led by Prime Minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili, will consist of 18 Ministers:

  1. Dimitry Kumsishvili - First Vice Prime Minister, Minister of Finance
  2. Kakha Kaladze – Vice Prime Minister, Minister of Energy
  3. Giorgi Gakharia – Minister of Economy and Sustainable Development
  4. Mikheil Janelidze - Minister of Foreign Affairs
  5. Levan Izoria - Minister of Defence
  6. Thea Tsulukiani - Minister of Justice
  7. Giorgi Mghebrishvili - Minister of Internal Affairs
  8. Kakha Kakhishvili - Minister of Corrections
  9. David Sergeenko - Minister of Labour, Health and Social Affairs
  10. Aleksandre Jejelava - Minister of Education and Science
  11. Levan Davitashvili - Minister of Agriculture
  12. Sozar Subari - Minister of Internally Displaced Persons from the Occupied Territories, Accommodation and Refugees
  13. Zurab Alavidze - Minister of Regional Development and Infrastructure
  14. Mikheil Giorgadze - Minister of Culture and Monument Protection
  15. Tariel Khechikashvili - Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs
  16. Gigla Agulashvili - Minister of Environment and Natural Resources Protection
  17. Viktor Dolidze - State Minister of Georgia on European and Euro-Atlantic Integration
  18. Ketevan Tsikhelashvili - State Minister of Georgia for Reconciliation and Civic Equality