Georgia’s new Government takes power from today

Prime Minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili (R) and Vice Prime Minister, Finance Minister Dimitry Kumsishvili smile at each other as Parliament approves the new Government. Photo by the PM's press office., 28 Nov 2016 - 11:16, Tbilisi,Georgia

From today Georgia officially has a new Government.

This morning Georgia’s Prime Minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili signed a decree appointing his ministerial nominees as Ministers.

This means Georgia’s new Cabinet, which received Parliament’s vote of confidence on November 26, officially took power.

The new Cabinet of Georgia, led by Prime Minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili, consists of 18 Ministers:

  • Dimitry Kumsishvili - First Vice Prime Minister, Minister of Finance 
  • Kakha Kaladze – Vice Prime Minister, Minister of Energy
  • Giorgi Gakharia – Minister of Economy and Sustainable Development
  • Mikheil Janelidze - Minister of Foreign Affairs 
  • Levan Izoria - Minister of Defence
  • Thea Tsulukiani - Minister of Justice
  • Giorgi Mghebrishvili - Minister of Internal Affairs
  • Kakha Kakhishvili - Minister of Corrections
  • David Sergeenko - Minister of Labour, Health and Social Affairs 
  • Aleksandre Jejelava - Minister of Education and Science 
  • Levan Davitashvili - Minister of Agriculture
  • Sozar Subari - Minister of Internally Displaced Persons from the Occupied Territories, Accommodation and Refugees 
  • Zurab Alavidze - Minister of Regional Development and Infrastructure
  • Mikheil Giorgadze - Minister of Culture and Monument Protection
  • Tariel Khechikashvili - Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs
  • Gigla Agulashvili - Minister of Environment and Natural Resources Protection
  • Viktor Dolidze - State Minister of Georgia on European and Euro-Atlantic Integration
  • Ketevan Tsikhelashvili - State Minister of Georgia for Reconciliation and Civic Equality