New Parliament of Georgia elects six Vice Speakers

  • Tamar Chugoshvili was elected as a first deputy Vice-Speaker of Parliament. Photo by, 18 Nov 2016 - 18:29, Tbilisi,Georgia

This afternoon, a short time after the country's new lawmakers elected Irakli Kobakhidze as the new Speaker of Parliament of Georgia, the legislative body voted for who it wanted as its Vice Speakers. 

A vote in Parliament revealed Kobakhidze has six deputies; four from the ruling Georgian Dream-Democratic Georgia (GDDG) party and two from opposition parties.

The Vice Speakers are: 

  • First Deputy Vice Speaker Tamar Chugoshvili from GDDG majority. She received 120 votes, two against.
  • Zviad Dzidziguri from GDDG majority, 129 votes for, two against. 
  • Giorgi Volski from GDDG majority, 129 votes for, three against.
  • Ilia Nakashidze from GDDG party from Adjara Autonomous Republic’s legislative body, a mandatory quota in Parliament of Georgia, 131 votes for, none against.
  • Sergi Kapanadze, from United National Movement (UNM) minority, 94 votes for, 15 against.
  • Irma Inashvili, from Alliance of Patriots opposition party, 106 votes for, 24 against. 

Parliament of Georgia is composed of 150 members however nine lawmakers did not appear at today's first session of ninth Parliament of Georgia. 

To be elected in a higher role in Parliament, candidates required the support of at least 76 lawmakers.