Chief Prosecutor, deputy on final list of judges for Georgian Supreme Court

In his previous statement Chief Prosecutor Shalva Tadumadze (L) said that he has the ambition to become the head of the Supreme Court. The second photo features Deputy Chief Prosecutor Mamuka Vasadze., 05 Sep 2019 - 13:18, Tbilisi,Georgia

The High Council of Justice of Georgia, a body which is responsible for the selection and appointment of judges in the country, has presented a final, 20 person list, for judges to the Supreme Court, including Chief Prosecutor Shalva Tadumadze and his deputy Mamuka Vasadze.

The list, which will be voted on in parliament, also includes current head of the Constitutional Court Zaza Tavadze and Secretary of the High Council of Justice Giorgi Mikautadze.

Several MPs, two non-judge members of the High Council of Justice (Anna Dolidze and Nazi Janezashvili) and NGOs have strongly disliked the list, saying that many of the judges on the list are connected with the previous, United National Movement leadership and delivering of ‘unfair verdicts.’

Members of the ruling Georgian Dream party say that the candidates have been selected in line with the new law, drafted based on the recommendations of the Venice Commission of the Council of Europe.

The Georgian Supreme Court should be composed of 28 judges. As of now it lacks judges. If approved the judges will serve until retirement. Photo: Supreme Court.

The full list is as follows:

  • Tamar Alania – a judge.
  • Merab Gabinashvili –a judge.
  • Shota Getsadze – a judge.
  • Miranda Eremadze – a judge.
  • Mamuka Vasadze - a deputy chief prosecutor.
  • Maia Vachadze – a judge.
  • Tamar Zambakhidze – a judge.
  • Shalva Tadumadze – a chief prosecutor.
  • Zaza Tavadze – head of the constructional court.
  • Vladimer Kakabadze – a judge.
  • Levan Mikaberidze – a judge.
  • Giorgi Mikautadze – a judge, a secretary of the High Council of Justice.
  • Paata Silagadze – a judge.
  • Nugzar Skhirtladze – a judge.
  • Lali Papiashvili – a former judge of the Constitutional Court.
  • Nino Kadagidze – a judge.
  • Lasha Kochiashvili – a judge.
  • Ketevan Tsintsadze – an employee of the High Council of Justice, an independent inspector.
  • Aleksandre Tsuladze – a mediator of Tbilisi City Court.
  • Gocha Jeiranashvili – a judge.

Five of the 20 judges (Mikautadze, Kadagidze, Silagadze, Gabinashvili and Alania) were on the 10-person list presented by the High Council of Justice for the Supreme Court at the end of 2018 which caused controversies and led to the drafting of a new bill regarding the refreshed criteria of selection of Judges.

Now it is up to MPs whether or not to approve the list. The list needs the support of 76 MPs at least in the 150-member parliament.