Georgian student in Clio Award-winning team of ad designers

Fashion designers Domenico Dolce and Stefano Gabbana on an advertising design for Wetransfer file-sharing platform by the Miami Ad School Berlin team. Photo: Clio Awards., 04 Sep 2019 - 16:44, Tbilisi,Georgia

Georgian student Bitchiko Varshanidze has claimed the 2019 Clio Award in Student Print, a major international award in advertising, along with fellow creatives of his team of the Miami Ad School Berlin.


The team involving Varshanidze and the school’s students Lisa Kirmsse, Theresa Schmitz and Rodrigo Pernas was earlier today unveiled as the winner of the Student Print section, for their design of a promotional visual for Wetransfer file-sharing platform.


Taking a theme of famous creative collaborations from history, their design paired images of now-famous figures like Apple founders Steve Jobs and Steve Wozniak with the Wetransfer interface with fictional comments from the personalities about their ideas that later marked breakthrough moments.


The Beatles singers John Lennon and Paul McCartney and fashion moguls Domenico Dolce and Sefano Gabbana are other figures featured in the advertising series titled Share to Perfect.



Apple co-founders Steve Jobs and Steve Wozniak featured in another design in the series, with a reference to their breakthrough Macintosh personal computer design. Photo: Clio Awards.


Born in Georgia’s seaside city of Batumi, Varshanidze graduated from the Marmara University in Istanbul before continuing his studies in Berlin.


He has studied at the German capital’s school since 2018 and simultaneously worked as an intern at European advertising agencies.


Established in 1959, the Clio Awards is now promoted as the “premier international awards competition for the creative business”.


The prize celebrates creativity in advertising, design and promotion and seeks to “[establish] a new precedent around the globe”.


With tens of thousands of submissions received by judges, over 80 percent are eliminated before the juries draw a shortlist and determine winning entries.


The 60th anniversary of the awards will be marked on September 25 in the Manhattan Center in New York, where winners of the prize will be highlighted.