Majority, minority and five factions formed in new Parliament

  • Parliamentary majority is composed of 116 members, minority from 26 members. Photo by Parliament of Georgia press office., 18 Nov 2016 - 16:33, Tbilisi,Georgia

Today in Kutaisi at the first meeting of the country's new Parliament, the majority, minority and five factions have been formed in the new Parliament of Georgia. 

The Parliamentary majority was composed of 116 lawmakers - 115 from the ruling Georgian Dream-Democratic Georgia party and one majoritarian-elect from the non-parliamentary Industrials Party, Simon Nozadze. 

Two factions were formed within the majority: the Georgian Dream faction with 110 lawmakers, chaired by lawyer Mamuka Mdinaradze and Georgian Dream-Industrials faction with six lawmakers headed by Simon Nozadze. 

The  majority leader will be ex-Deputy Interior Minister Archil Talakvadze. 

The Parliamentary minority was formed by 26 lawmakers of the opposition United National Movement, which won 27 seats out of the 150-member legislative body after the last month’s Parliamentary Elections. 

The minority formed two factions - the United National Movement faction with 20 lawmakers chaired by ex-governor of Tbilisi Mtatsminda district Nikanor Melia and the United National Movement-for Georgia’s Advancement faction with six members that will be chaired by political expert  Elene Khoshtaria. 

The minority leader will be ex-Parliament Chair David Bakradze.

The third party in Parliament, Alliance of Patriots with only six seats in the legislative body, also formed a faction named Georgia’s Patriots with six lawmakers, chaired by party representative Giorgi Lomaia.