Elections 2016: Four districts need repeat vote

  • On October 8 Georgian citizens voted to elect the 150-seat Parliament of Georgia, 77 members through party lists and 73 in the majoritarian districts. Photo by Nino Alavidze/Agenda.ge
Agenda.ge, 13 Oct 2016 - 12:40, Tbilisi,Georgia

A repeat vote of the Parliamentary Elections will take place in several districts in Georgia where votes were nullified due to incidences on Election Day.

Today Georgia’s Central Election Commission (CEC) announced a repeat vote will take place in at least four election districts but the number may increase. 

Three of the four election districts where a repeat vote is needed are in western Samegrelo region. 

These are:

  • Ganmukhuri #39 polling station
  • Jikhashkari #79 polling station
  • #108 polling station

A repeat vote is also needed in southern Marneuli region after votes cast at #48 polling station in Marneuli were void after a clash erupted on Election Day.

The CEC has not yet scheduled when the repeat vote will take place, as the number of districts that need a repeat vote may increase based on appeals the organisation has received. 

Election legislation states a repeat vote must be held before October 22.

The repeat vote will be scheduled when total votes received by candidates at an election district is less than the number of voters who cast their ballots at the election district,” said CEC spokesperson Ana Mikeladze today. 

She announced a repeat vote could be scheduled for any day within two weeks of the first round of elections - October 8.  

The CEC has until October 27 to summarise first round of elections, and this includes outcomes of repeat votes. 

Meanwhile the second round elections must take place before November 2, while the outcome of the second round must be summarised no later than November 21.