868 Georgian citizens deported from EU member states in 3 months as part of readmission deal

EU-Georgia readmission agreement entered into force on March 1, 2011. Photo: Nino Alavidze/Agenda.ge

Agenda.ge, 28 Oct 2022 - 11:58, Tbilisi,Georgia

The Georgian interior ministry on Friday said 868 Georgian citizens had been deported from several European Union member states over the past three months for violation of mandatory terms of stay in the countries. 

The ministry said 525 of the individuals had been deported from Germany between July and September, which was followed by deportations from France (176), Greece (33), Poland (33), Switzerland (23) and Spain (17).

The state body noted 873 applications had been studied in total, of which 868 were approved and five were rejected as part of the EU-Georgia readmission agreement that entered into force in 2011.

The agreement stipulates terms for deportation of Georgian citizens living illegally in the territory of the EU, as well as the readmission of citizens of third countries to Georgia.