Levan Kobiashvili becomes Georgia’s first official to serve as UEFA Football Committee Chairman

The GFF President will be one of six officials from Georgia to serve on UEFA committees and panels, making the highest number from the country. Photo: Lasha Kuprashvili.

Agenda.ge, 30 May 2019 - 18:43, Tbilisi,Georgia

Georgian Football Federation President Levan Kobiashvili has been appointed Chairman of the UEFA Football Committee, with a record six officials from Georgia set to serve in the international body.


Kobiashvili, who has become the country’s first official to be selected for the position, will fulfill the duty over the next three years in the Committee, one of 19 of the football organisation.


The former player of the Georgian national team reacted to the news by saying the selection was “great honour” and thanking those involved in the process for their “trust and support”.


The Georgian will be joined by other former players on the Committee, with Portugal legend Luis Figo and Italy’s Demetrio Albertini set to serve as Vice Chairmen along with former Montenegro and AC Milan midfielder Dejan Savicevic and ex-Moldovan national team player Pavel Cebanu.