Votes to be counted electronically at 8 polling stations during upcoming by-elections in Georgia

  • The electronic vote counting technology was first used last year.  Photo: Nino Alavidze/, 9 May 2019 - 15:21, Tbilisi,Georgia

Votes will be counted electronically at eight polling stations of Tkibuli and Tskaltubo in western Georgia during the May 19 by elections, the Central Election Commission of Georgia (CEC) reports.

  • Read more about the by elections here.

CEC tested the electronic vote counting technology during the 2018 by elections.  

“A special vote-counting device will be placed on a ballot box, which will scan dropped ballot papers and count the results,” CEC says.

CEC stated that local and international observers, as well political players have been informed regarding the usage of the technology.

Georgia will hold municipal by-elections to elect members of eight city councils (Sakrebulo) and five municipal mayors.

Voting will be held at 26 polling stations in the municipalities of Sagarejo, Akhmeta, Adigeni, Zestaponi, Chiatura, Tkibuli, Tskaltubo and Ozurgeti, as well as at 362 polling stations in five cities - Zugdidi, Marneuli, Zestaponi, Tchiatura and Khulo.

One MP will also be elected in the Mtatsminda district of Tbilisi to replace current President Salome Zurabishvili in the legislative body.