Japan, Germany and Denmark join statements over Russia-Georgia war

All the countries state that they support the peaceful resolution of conflict. Photo: President of Georgia press office.
Agenda.ge, 08 Aug 2018 - 13:39, Tbilisi,Georgia

The Foreign Ministries of Germany, Japan and Denmark joined the world countries which have commemorated the Russia-Georgia 2008 war and condemned Russia’s illegal actions on historic Georgian lands. 

On the 10th anniversary of outbreak of conflict in Georgia’s occupied regions of Tskhinvali region/South Ossetia and Abkhazia in August 2008, Japan expresses deep condolences to the victims and their relatives of this conflict, and repeatedly confirms its consistent position that peaceful resolution of the conflict in these regions in line with the principles of sovereignty and territorial integrity of Georgia within its internationally recognized borders is essential for the peace and stability of the country and the entire South Caucasus region,” the Japan Foreign Ministry says. 

The Foreign Ministry says that Japan opposes any attempts to change Georgia’s internationally recognized borders.

The German Foreign Ministry reports that the Federal Republic of Germany supports Georgia’s national sovereignty and territorial integrity within its internationally recognised borders. 

The unilateral recognition of the breakaway Georgian regions of Abkhazia and South Ossetia by the Russian Federation and four other states is unacceptable,” reads the statement. 

Germany backs the efforts to find a peaceful solution to the conflict within the framework of the Geneva International Discussions, which remain the "cornerstone of the international mediation efforts”. 

We urge Russia to meet its obligations under the agreements of 12 August and 8 September 2008 in full,” German Foreign Ministry says. 

In an official twitter Denmark "regrets the lack of respect” for Georgia’s sovereignty and territorial integrity still 10 years after the Russian invasion.