Tbilisi hosts Tsinandali Award for young scientists, artists

  • The awards ceremony will be hosted at the Fabrika venue of creative community events. Photo from Fabrika.
Agenda.ge, 27 Oct 2016 - 16:02, Tbilisi,Georgia

A special awards ceremony will reveal some of the brightest young Georgian scientists and artists this Saturday at a vibrant Tbilisi venue dedicated to creativity and art.

The Zurab Zhvania Tsinandali Award for Young Scientists and Artists will be held on October 29, and will single out eight individuals for prizes honouring their work in professions from literature to natural sciences and music.

Among the 24 nominees of this year's prize are filmmaker Dea Kulumbegashvili and contemporary artist Tamar Chaduneli. The shortlist also featured the jazz trio A-Maze and writer Giorgi Arabuli.

Film director Dea Kulumbegashvili has been nominated for the Tsinandali Cinema Art Award. Photo from Tsinandali Award.

The prize was established in 1998 under the auspices of the late chairperson of the Parliament of Georgia Zurab Zhvania.

The award was discontinued for over a decade before it was reintroduced in 2014 by the President of Georgia Giorgi Margvelashvili, and the first ceremony since its reinstatement was held in 2015.

Now organised by the Zurab Zhvania Foundation, the second annual restored awards will be presented to laureates aged 18-30 in recognition for their "innovation" and "quality" in creative or research work.

Saturday's awards ceremony will be hosted at Fabrika, a former Soviet sewing factory now used by a community of artists for creative exhibitions, installations and events in the heart of Tbilisi's Old Town.

Theatre director Aleksandre Eloshvili is one of three nominees in the Theatrical Art Award section. Photo from Tsinandali Award.

The awards are prepared and staged by selected young artists in a bid to underline the focus of the Tsinandali Award on the young generation.

The team working on the creative and technical side of the ceremony is being led by director Misha Charkviani, who himself was a recipient of the 2015 edition of the award.

As a group we agreed to make the ceremony feature as much information about nominees as possible, to make it clear for the attending audience who the participants are and why they are being awarded. We will display this information along the space at the Fabrika venue," said Charkviani while speaking to media last week.

Writer Giorgi Arabuli is in competition for the Literary Fiction Award at the 2016 ceremony. Photo from Tsinandali Award.

The full list of prizes and nominees for the 2016 Tsinandali Award is:

  • Natural Sciences Award: Eka Gurgenashvili, Levan Tielidze, Lia Tsverava
  • Humanitarian Sciences Award: Mikheil Barnovi, Giorgi Ugulava, Kakhaber Kalichava
  • Theatrical Art Award: Aleksandre Eloshvili, Giorgi Chachanidze, Alex Chigvinadze
  • Cinema Art Award: Tornike Gogritchiani, Dea Kulumbegashvili, Giorgi Mukhadze
  • Visual Arts Award: Tezi Gabunia, Nika Kutateladze, Tamar Chaduneli
  • Music Award: Jazz band A-Maze, Lizi Ramishvili, Salome Jikia
  • Literary Fiction Award for Poetry: Giorgi Arabuli, Genri Dolidze, Tornike Tchelidze
  • Literary Fiction Award for Prose: Tornike Gogniashvili, Tamar Subeliani, Tsone Tskhvediani

In addition to the awards ceremony, Saturday's event will also feature musical entertainment for guests, with performances by Georgian artists and bands Backwarmer, Sevda and Misho Urushadze.