Check if your country is on the visa-free list

All types of new Georgian visas will cost $50 USD. This is what it will looks like, 26 Aug 2014 - 13:32, Tbilisi,Georgia

Georgia has revealed more details of the country’s new visa regulations and announced which countries do not need a visa to enter Georgia. 

From September 1, 2014, the number of countries eligible to enter Georgia without a visa has been slashed by 24, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced today.

See the full list of countries eligible in the visa-free regime below.

Under the old rules, citizens from 118 countries were able to enter Georgia without a visa and stay for a maximum of 360 days. But from September 1, 2014, citizens from 94 countries will be able to enter Georgia without a visa however they can only stay for a maximum of 90 days in a 180 day period.

The Ministry said it was still negotiating with other countries not named on the visa-free list and in the future more countries would be added to the visa-free regime.

Under the new rules no one from any country is eligible to enter Georgia for 360 days.

In addition, from next month visitors to Georgia will not be able to obtain a visa on arrival. People who wish to spent time in Georgia longer than the 90 day allocated period, must apply for a Georgian visas from a Georgian Embassy or Consulate in a person’s home country.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs said the reason for this change was to enhance the level of security at the border, as currently when visas were granted at the border, there was not enough time to gather appropriate information about the traveller who wanted to enter the country.

The Ministry said this rule was in line with other European countries, however there would be exceptions when a Georgian visa could be issued at the border however this would only happen in "special cases” determined by the Georgian Government.

In addition, the cost of obtaining a visa will become universal for all citizens all over the globe and will cost $50 USD (86 GEL).

Meanwhile, when planning a longer visit to Georgia all citizens are required to obtain an immigration visa, regardless of nationality. The Ministry said this change was noted in the Association Agreement (AA) and this must be done before the traveller arrived in Georgia.

The Ministry confirmed people had the possibility to apply for a visa online and while this service was not available yet, this would be possible in the near future.

List of countries whose citizens may enter Georgia without a visa for a short-stay visit:

1. Commonwealth of Australia

2. Republic of Austria

3. Republic of Azerbaijan

4. Republic of Albania

5. United States of America

6. Principality of Andorra

7. Antigua and Barbuda

8. United Arab Emirates

9. Argentine Republic

10. New Zealand

11. Barbados

12. Kingdom of Bahrain

13. Commonwealth of the Bahamas

14. Republic of Belarus

15. Kingdom of Belgium

16. Belize

17. Bosnia and Herzegovina

18. Republic of Botswana

19. Federative Republic of Brazil

20. Nation of Brunei

21. Republic of Bulgaria

22. Federal Republic of Germany

23. Kingdom of Denmark

24. Kingdom of Denmark territories - Faroe islands, Greenland;

25. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

26. British overseas territories - Bermuda, Cayman Islands, British Virgin Islands, Falkland Islands, Turks and Caicos Islands, Gibraltar;

27. British dependant territories - Guernsey, Jersey, Isle of Man;

28. Commonwealth of Dominica

29. Republic of El Salvador

30. Republic of Ecuador

31. Kingdom of Spain

32. Republic of Estonia

33. Republic of Turkey

34. Turkmenistan

35. Japan

36. Irish Republic

37. Iceland

38. State of Israel

39. Italian Republic

40. Canada

41. State of Qatar

42. Republic of Cyprus

43. Republic of Colombia

44. Republic of Korea

45. Republic of Costa Rica

46. Republic of Latvia

47. Republic of Lithuania

48. Lebanese Republic

49. Principality of Liechtenstein

50. Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

51. Republic of Mauritius

52. Malaysia

53. Republic of Malta

54. United Mexican States

55. Principality of Monaco

56. Republic of Moldova

57. Montenegro

58. Kingdom of the Netherlands

59. Kingdom of Netherlands territories - Aruba, the Netherlands Antilles;

60. Kingdom of Norway

61. Sultanate of Oman

62. Republic of Panama

63. Republic of Poland

64. Portuguese Republic

65. Republic of Romania

66. Russian Federation

67. Hellenic Republic

68. Republic of South Africa

69. Republic of San Marino

70. Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

71. French Republic

72. French Republic territories - French Polynesia, New Caledonia

73. Republic of Seychelles

74. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

75. Republic of Serbia

76. Republic of Singapore

77. Slovak Republic

78. Republic of Slovenia

79. Republic of Armenia

80. Kingdom of Thailand

81. Republic of Tajikistan

82. Republic of Uzbekistan

83. Ukraine

84. Hungary

85. Republic of Finland

86. State of Kuwait

87. Kyrgyz Republic

88. Republic of Kazakhstan

89. Kingdom of Sweden

90. Swiss Confederation

91. Czech Republic

92. Holy See

93. Republic of Croatia

94. Republic of Honduras