Nine MPs from UNM faction announce hunger strike in solidarity with Saakashvili

Opposition MPs on hunger strike demand Saakashvili's transfer to a civil hospital.

Video grab from Mtavari Arkhi, 14 Nov 2021 - 16:10, Tbilisi,Georgia

Nine MPs from the parliamentary faction United National Movement  - Unified Opposition have gone on hunger strike, demanding the imprisoned former Georgian president Mikheil Saakashvili be transferred from the prison hospital where he is currently receiving care to a civil clinic.

The MPs who went on hunger strike are: David Kirkitadze, Akaki Minashvili, Temur Janashia, Bachuki Kardava, Nika Machutadze, Giorgi Godabrelidze, Sulkhan Sibashvili, Levan Bejashvili, and Abdula Ismailov.

Our demand is to transfer Mikheil Saakashvili to a multifunctional civil clinic, so that he can receive adequate medical services... From this moment, we announce hunger strike which will continue until Saakashvili's transfer, Kirkitadze told the press earlier today.

Droa opposition party leader Elene Khoshtaria has been on a hunger strike for 12 days, demanding Saakashvili's transfer to a civil clinic.

Khoshtaria maintains that she will only receive medical care to prevent her own death.