Agitation, voting rules violations - incidents reported by election observers

  • PMMG monitoring covered Gardabani, Marneuli, Akhaltsikhe, Akhalkalaki, Ninotsminda and Isani districts. Photo: Nino Alavidze/, 29 Nov 2018 - 09:06, Tbilisi,Georgia

Public Movement Multinational Georgia (PMMG) observers have reported 41 incidents in the election process as of 21:00 on November 28.

Four complaints have been filed by the observers themselves in total.

The observers have revealed one incident of agitation at a polling station, one

attempt of voting without presenting proper documentation and one case of pre-made signature in the voters’ list.

The incident of agitation was reported from Marneuli election district during the voting process.

“The following parties have been involved in agitation process: appointed members of the precinct election commission representing United National Movement and Georgian Dream, appointed representatives by the underlined two political subjects as well as the ordinary voters in the polling station. The incident was removed as a result of verbal objection raised by the observers,” PMMG said.

As for other the other incidents, member of the N22 polling station election commission of Marneuli district responsible for regulating the voters’ queue has allowed the voter to enter the polling station by using the ID belonging to other person. As a result of the observer's complaint the underlined voter was expelled from the polling station.

Moreover, a voter was illegally denied the voting right at the same polling station in Marneuli due to the pre-made signature across his name and surname in the voters’ list. Therefore, he was not allowed to vote. The case was challenged by observer and the respective complaint was filed.

PMMG Elections Day monitoring program covered Gardabani, Marneuli, Akhaltsikhe, Akhalkalaki, Ninotsminda and Isani electoral districts.  

The Elections Day monitoring program is being implemented by 234 short term observers deployed by the PMMG including static observers, mobile group observers, district election commission observes and Central Election Commission observer.