Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine want confirmation of their European future at Eastern Partnership Summit

The joint address was prepared upon the initiative of Georgian Parliament Speaker Irakli Kobakhidze. Photo from:, 06 Jul 2017 - 17:15, Tbilisi,Georgia

The parliaments of three European Union (EU) associated countries – Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine – are urging the European Parliament to adopt a resolution in support of their European future before the upcoming Eastern Partnership Summit.

"Related to this ambitious future message, the Eastern Partnership Summit Declaration will launch a strong signal in the current tense geopolitical situation and become an inspirational tool for accelerating progress and further democratic transformation in the three partner countries associated with the EU", the joint address says.

"The Declaration following the Eastern Partnership Summit 2017 will express clear support for the territorial integrity and sovereignty of Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine, as well as support the choice and European agenda of our countries," said the document.

The joint address was prepared upon the initiative of the Georgian Parliament Speaker Irakli Kobakhidze and was signed by Kobakhidze himself, Parliament Speaker of Moldova Andrian Candu and President of the Verkhovna Rada Andriy Parubiy.

The fifth Eastern Partnership Summit will take place in Brussels on 24 November.