Georgian President meets NATO Secretary General

Georgia’s top officials have stated after this year’s Summit in Warsaw Georgia will become more secured. Photo by NATO., 08 Jul 2016 - 18:38, Tbilisi,Georgia

NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg offered a warm welcome to Georgia's President Giorgi Margvelashvili at a face-to-face meeting at NATO’s 28th Warsaw Summit today for talks on the Alliance’s further partnership with Georgia.

The meeting was not followed by any official comments but President Margvelashvili’s press office said "the sides discussed the next practical steps to strengthen Georgia’s defence capability”.

Georgia's President also published a message about this meeting on his official Twitter account:

The NATO top official in his opening speech at the Warsaw Summit Experts' Forum earlier today underlined the Alliance's support for Georgia’s Euro-Atlantic aspirations.

We will also affirm our commitment to our partners in the east – to Ukraine, Georgia and the Republic of Moldova – to help them resist outside pressures and to advance reforms,” said Stoltenberg.

President Margvelashvili, who is leading Georgia’s delegation at the NATO Warsaw Summit, told media today that prior to the Summit Georgia's Parliament adopted a declaration about Georgia’s intentions to join the Alliance, and the document was signed by the Parliamentary majority and the opposition.

Later today a meeting of the NATO-Georgia Commission at the level of Foreign Ministers will be held at the Summit, followed by a press conference of the NATO Secretary General.

At the Wales Summit in 2014 Georgia was granted a Substantial Package, which was a set of tools and action to boost Georgia’s self-defence capabilities and enhance Georgia’s ties with the Alliance.

Georgia’s top officials said after this year’s Summit in Warsaw Georgia will become "more secured".

Thousands of official from more than 50 official delegations are participating in the Summit. This includes all 28 NATO allies, Montenegro, whose accession to NATO is currently in the ratification process, 26 partner countries and representatives from the United Nations, the European Union, the World Bank and the NATO Parliamentary Assembly.