Georgia to host European Council President, Estonian PM and eight foreign ministers

Georgian Foreign Minister David Zalkaliani has announced the upcoming visit of the foreign ministers in relation to the 10th anniversary of Eastern Partnership. Photo: Foreign Ministry press office., 05 Jul 2019 - 19:14, Tbilisi,Georgia

Next week Georgia will host European Council President Donald Tusk, Estonian PM Juri Ratas and eight foreign ministers from the EU and partner countries.

Georgian Foreign Minister David Zalkaliani said that the foreign officials will participate in an international conference in Batumi devoted to the 10th anniversary of Eastern Partnership.

The foreign ministers who will visit Georgia are:

  •         Polish Foreign Minister Jacek Czaputowicz
  •         Foreign Minister of Sweden Margot Wallstrom
  •        Bulgarian vice PM and Foreign Minister Ekaterina Spasova Gecheva-Zakharieva 
  •        Armenian Foreign Minister Zohrab Mnatsakanyan
  •        Hungarian Foreign Minister Peter Szijjarto
  •        Czech Foreign Minister Tomas Petricek
  •        Moldovan Foreign Minister Nicolae Popescu
  •       Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs Jeremy Hunt

The foreign delegation will also include other officials.

The conference will be held on 11-12 July. Two financial agreements between Georgia and the EU will be signed as a part of the event.

The agreements refer to allocation of about €47 mln for Georgia.

The EU Eastern Partnership format unites six Eastern European countries: Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Moldova and Ukraine. The objective of the format is supporting democracy, prosperity and stability in the region.