Georgia, Azerbaijan, Ukraine, Moldova to create free trade zone

  • Georgian Foreign Minister Mikheil Janelidze (L) makes statements at today's press conference in Tbilisi. Photo by Foreign Ministry's press office, 8 Oct 2017 - 20:22, Tbilisi,Georgia

The Foreign Ministers of Georgia, Azerbaijan, Ukraine and Moldova participated in a ministerial meeting in Georgian capital of Tbilisi today to commemorate the 20th anniversary of cooperation.

Georgia, Ukraine, Azerbaijan and Moldova are the members of the Organization for Democracy and Economic Development known as GUAM, which is a regional organisation of those four post-Soviet states.

Welcoming the achievement of the organisation during the last 20 years, Georgian Foreign Minister Mikheil Janelidze said GUAM has become a strong political player on the international arena.

20 years ago four friendly states gave foundation to GUAM for peace, stability, cooperation and economic development in the region”, Minister Janelidze said.

Stressing the importance of the joint communique signed today, Janelidze said this document is proof that all the four states are taking responsibility to be more active in achieving joint results for the welfare of their people.

Minister Janelidze said an agreement has been achieved to create a free trade zone among the GUAM-member states "that will be important not only for commercial-economic cooperation, but further strengthening of a transport corridor as well”.

The transport corridor can bring welfare, stability and development to the entire region. To achieve this, we of course welcome every interested party both from the east and from the west” , Janelidze stated.

Within their visit to Georgia, the foreign ministers of Ukraine, Azerbaijan and Moldova have also met with Georgian Prime Minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili and President Giorgi Margvelashvili.

Later on they also joined in the Tbilisoba City Festival - the city’s most colourful and spectacular festival taking place this weekend.