Russia’s MFA: “No ceasefire deal was signed with Georgia in 2008”

Russia’s Foreign Ministry has released a statement about the Russia-Georgia war in 2008 and its consequences. Photo by, 12 Aug 2016 - 17:48, Tbilisi,Georgia

Russia says it never signed a peace deal with Georgia after a brutal five-day war that ended on this day eight years ago.

Today Russia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs released a statement saying Russia never signed a ceasefire agreement with Georgia after the Russia-Georgia war in 2008. 

The Ministry stressed the August 12, 2008 Ceasefire Agreement was a "mythical” deal that was frequently mentioned by Georgia – a country that has "failed to get used to the new reality” of the existence of two independent states on its "former territory”.

The comments come in response to recent statement of Georgia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs in recognition of the eighth anniversary of the Russia-Georgia August War. 

The Georgian side’s statement stressed Russia violated a raft of international laws with regard to Georgian territory and Georgian people, and it continued to violate the Russia-Georgia Ceasefire Agreement signed on August 12, 2008 through the mediation of France. 

The six-point Ceasefire Agreement was signed by both Russia and Georgia on August 12, 2008. By signing the deal both sides agreed to: 

  • No use of  force;
  • A definitive halt to hostilities;
  • Provision of free access to  humanitarian assistance;
  •  Georgian military forces must withdraw to the places they are usually stationed;
  •  The Russian armed forces will pull back to the line where they were stationed before the start of hostilities. While awaiting an international mechanism, Russian peacekeeping forces will implement additional security measures;
  •  Launching of international discussions on security and stability modalities in Abkhazia and South Ossetia.
We are forced to once again remind Georgia that no such agreement exists. 
In reality it was a six principle document on how conflicts might be regulated, which was drafted by Russia’s and France’s presidents and were separately sent to Georgian, Abkhazian and South Ossetian sides to sign,” said the Russian Foreign Ministry. 

The statement also criticised Ukraine for supporting Georgia and voicing its solidarity to Georgia. 

See Russia’s full statement in Russian here.  The statement was not released in English.