Ten local businesses join European Economic Senate

International forum ‘Congress of the European Economic Senate’ at the Sheraton hotel Batumi. Photo by IPN.
Agenda.ge, 15 Aug 2014 - 13:48, Tbilisi,Georgia

Ten of Georgia’s most successful businesses have been invited to join the European Economic Senate (EES) alongside other fruitful European businesses.

This will be the first time Georgia will have ten Senators who represent their businesses at the EES. The annual EES holds different events dedicated to improving business for its members. Georgian representatives will have the opportunity to share their projects and interests with European partners and investors.

Meanwhile the international forum ‘Congress of the European Economic Senate’ is taking place within the European Economic Senate at the Sheraton hotel in Batumi today.

Topics due to be discussed today are: Strengthening Georgian-European trade relations, encouraging European investments in Georgia, the introduction of European business standards in Georgia and ways to promote the interests of the Georgian business in Europe.

Georgia’s Deputy Minister of Economy and Sustainable Development Mikheil Janelidze was at the event, which was organized by the Business Club of Georgia alongside the Georgian Chamber of Commerce and the National Investment Agency. He said the forum would act as a bridge between Georgian and European businesses.

"Today we will present various investment projects for European investors. This is a great opportunity which will open doors for Georgian and European business representatives to deepen trade and investment relations.”

Those attending today’s forum in Batumi include EES executive director, senators, Chairman of the Taxpayers Association of Europe, members of the European Parliament and European investors. Georgian Government officials and local businessmen are also represented at the Congress.

The EES is the coordinating center-organization of European business and its members include heads of large companies and politicians from EU countries and the EES president is European Parliament Vice President Ingo Friedrich.