Georgia prepares for municipal elections runoff

Exit polls will reveal preliminary results at 8pm today. Photo by Nino Alavidze/, 07 Jul 2014 - 18:56, Tbilisi,Georgia

The authorities responsible for conducting the 2014 municipal elections are preparing for the runoff elections.

The second round of voting will be held on July 12 in eight self-governing cities and 13 municipalities.

The Central Election Commission (CEC) held a news briefing today and presented information about the second round of voting. Runoff Mayoral elections will take place in the capital city Tbilisi and seven other self-governed cities - Batumi, Rustavi, Telavi, Gori, Mtskheta, Ozurgeti and Poti.

Runoff elections will also be held for Ggamgebeli (municipal executives) in 13 municipalities. These are Kvareli, Telavi, Tianeti, Akhmeta, Terjola, Khoni, Tkibuli, Martvili, Kobuleti, Bagdati, Gori, Lanchkhuti and Khulo.

More than a million ballot papers are being printed for the second round of voting, the CEC said. Among these, slightly more than 5,000 will be printed in Azeri language.

The CEC have also started to distribute voters’ cards, including information on election precincts where voters should cast their ballots.

CEC spokesperson Ekaterine Azarashvili said registered observer groups and media organisations can observe the second round of elections.

The deadline for submitting additional lists of observers to the relevant election commissions for local and international organisations is today, July 7, while the deadline is July 9 for media organisations.