Georgian, foreign officials join in anniversary of signing EU Association Agreement

  • On June 27, 2014 Georgia signed the Association Agreement (AA) with the European Union in Brussels. Photo: Georgian PM's press office/archive, 27 Jun 2020 - 17:09, Tbilisi,Georgia

Georgian and foreign officials, including President Salome Zurabishvili and Prime Minister Giorgi Gakharia, have joined in celebrating of the 6th anniversary of the signing of the EU-Georgia Association Agreement.

President Zurabishvili has tweeted:

PM Gakharia has tweeted as well:

EU Ambassador to Georgia Carl Hartzell congratulated Georgia on the anniversary, calling the Association Agreement a ‘backbone of our strong and growing relationship’.

Ambassador of Sweden to Georgia Ulrik Tideström also said that six years ago today, the EU and Georgia signed ‘the landmark Association Agreement’.

Sweden supports Georgia’s European integration, including as one of the leading development partners in the continuous reform work”, Ambassador Tideström said adding that ‘we are stronger together’.

Ambassador of Lithuania to Georgia Giedrius Puodziunas noted as well that the EU has 'much more to offer' to Georgia.

Six years ago on June 27, Georgia signed the Association Agreement (AA) with the European Union in Brussels, which includes the Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area (DCFTA).

Georgian Foreign Minister David Zalkaliani tweeted earlier today that the AA is Georgia’s 'most significant international agreement putting it firmly and irreversibly on the path of the European integration'.