Radio New Zealand: Nauru loses US financial support because it recognises Georgian breakaway regions

  • US President Donald Trump Photo: AFP

Review by Lali Tsertsvadze

Review by the Journalist of, 10 May 2017, Tbilisi,Georgia

Radio New Zealand (RNZ), New Zealand public service radio broadcaster, reports that Nauru is no longer eligible for any United States government financial support because it recognises two Georgian break-away regions as independent countries.

RNZ refers to the legislative act recently signed by US President Donald Trump which declares that Abkhazia and South Ossetia are Russian-occupied territories belonging to Georgia.

The act bans support for countries which recognise the two regions and also says US representatives in international financial institutions are prohibited from supporting programmes that violate Georgia's territorial integrity and sovereignty.

"While Nauru has maintained links with the two regions, Tuvalu and Vanuatu dropped their recognition as independent countries”, RNZ says.

It adds that the US is a major financial contributor to the Asian Development Bank, World Bank, UN Children's Fund, World Health Organisation and UN Fund for Population Activities, which assist Nauru.

The report also says that Abkhazia and South Ossetia broke away from Georgia after wars in the early 1990s and have run their own affairs ever since.

RNZ also stresses that the US Secretary of State Rex Tillerson and the Prime Minister of Georgia Giorgi Kvirikashvili have also signed an agreement to improve the Georgian military's cooperation with NATO forces.