№3 Nino Burjanadze - Democratic Movement

comments powered by Disqus

Non- Parliamentary opposition bloc.

Election bloc consisted of two parties:
  1. Democratic Movement - United Georgia
  2. United Democratic Movement
Leader's Quotes
Nino Burjanadze, the leader of the bloc: 

We will abolish the visa regime [with Russia], and we will fully open Russian market.”

We have a concrete plan regarding out foreign policy. I travel to regions, districts and villages and nobody has ever said that they want NATO and the European Union, while a lot of people say they want to restore relations with Russia."


Democratic Movement-United Georgia is a political party chaired by former Parliament Speaker Nino Burjanadze (2001-2008). She also was the first woman who served as the acting President of Georgia twice: first, after the Rose Revolution before the 2003 elections; and then in 2007 when then-President Mikheil Saakashvili stepped down to run in the elections for the second term.

The political party was founded in November 2008. Until 2012, the party was in opposition to the government led by Saakashvili and his United National Movement (UNM). 

The Democratic Movement party was accused by then-Government of plotting a coup in the wake of the 2008 Russia-Georgia war. The party denied the allegations.

In 2014 some leaders of Christian-Democratic Movement joined (under the name United Democratic Movement) and formed Bloc with Burjanadze's party.

Slogan: "United Georgia, Strong Economy!”

Top priorities of election platform:

  •  Unification of Georgia;
  •  Fairness;
  •  Social welfare;
  •  Declaring a non-bloc status: refusal to be a member of any military organisation.

Biggest promises:

  • Private arbitrate to settle economic disputes;
  • Deepening relations with the EU;
  •  Relations with NATO will be based on principle of equality;
  • Intensifying normalization of relations with Russia;
  • Encouraging people-to-people contacts between Georgians and Abkhazians and Ossetians;
  • Increasing pensions;
  • Higher quality of teaching Georgian language and Georgian history;
  • Minimal salary for teachers GEL 1300;
  • Decriminalistaion of drug use;
  • Income tax decrease to 12 percent;
  • Profit tax decrease to 10 percent;
  • Dividend tax decrease to two percent;
  • Banks be banned from selling the only residential place without giving a share to incapable family members;
  • Selling land to foreign citizens be banned.

Proportional list, top 10:

  1. Nino Burjanadze - Lawyer who served as Chairperson of the Parliament of Georgia from 2001 to 2008. As the first woman she has served as the acting head of state of Georgia twice (in 2003 and 2007).
  2. Dimitri Lortkipanidze – Former Member of Parliament. In 2014 he competed to become Tbilisi Mayor and ranked third. He was a candidate to become Georgia’s Public Defender but his candidacy wasn’t approved in 2012.
  3. Grigol Baramidze – Member of Democratic Movement - United Georgia, majoritarian candidate at Mtatsminda district in Tbilisi.
  4. Anzor Bitsadze - Member of Democratic Movement - United Georgia and son of Nino Burjanadze.
  5. Giorgi Akhvlediani – Leader of the United Democratic Movement, former member of Christian-Democratic Movement.
  6. Nana Devdariani – Member of Parliament in 1992-1995; Georgia’s Public Defender in 2000; Chairperson of Georgia’s Central Election Committee in 2003; background in journalism, media management.
  7.  Otar Tavartkiladze – Member of the Democratic Movement - United Georgia.
  8. Besik Danelia - Member of the managing board of Democratic Movement - United Georgia.
  9. Manana Salukvadze - Member of the managing board of Democratic Movement - United Georgia.
  10.  Isako Tskipurishvili - Member of Democratic Movement - United Georgia.

arrow_prev Back