All you need to know about October 8 Parliamentary Elections

comments powered by Disqus

The October 8 Parliamentary Elections will be one of the most diverse in the history of independent Georgia, as a large number of political parties and blocs have registered for the race. Here you will find key information to help you better understand the election process.

This year there will be no Georgian Dream coalition in the election race. The coalition was established for the 2012 Parliamentary Elections and has since led the country from 2012-2016 – four years after the first peaceful transition of power in the history of independent Georgia. The coalition has since disbanded and parties will compete separately in the 2016 elections.

At these elections the country will have an unprecedented number of foreign observers.

The official name of the elections is 2016 Parliamentary Elections of Georgia.

Who will Georgian citizens vote for on October 8?

Voters in Georgia will elect the country’s unicameral Parliament as well as lawmakers for the Supreme Council of Adjara, the highest legislative body of the Adjara Autonomous Republic in the country’s west.

Parliament of Georgia

77 members of the Parliament of Georgia are elected through a proportional election system, while the remaining 73 are elected through a majoritarian election system.

Any MP candidate, who receives more votes than others and more than 50 percent of votes, is elected in the majoritarian election district. Mandates of MPs of Georgia are granted only to the party list that receives no less than 5 percent of total votes.

Adjara Supreme Council

The highest legislative body of the Black Sea’s Adjara Autonomous Republic has 21 vacant mandates.

Like nationwide electoral system, Adjara’s elections are also held under the mixed system – 15 seats are allocated proportionally under the party list contest, among parties and election blocs who clear the 5 percent threshold.

6 members of the local Parliament are elected in the Autonomous Republic’s 6 single-member districts. Successful candidates must gain more than 50 percent of total votes.

Who will take part in Georgia’s Parliamentary Elections?

19 political parties and 6 election blocs will compete in the Parliamentary Elections in Georgia on October 8.

The following political players made up Parliament of Georgia in 2012-2016:

All of the above parties except for UNM were part of the ruling Georgian Dream coalition.

Meanwhile 11 political parties and 4 political blocs are registered for the Adjara Supreme Council Elections.

Unprecedented number of observers to monitor elections

54 international organisations are currently registered to monitor the local elections, while 91 local organisations are also registered to observe the elections in Georgia.

This includes:

Local Non-Governmental Organisation monitors include:

73 media outlets have registered to broadcast the elections from polling booths around the country. 

What has changed under the current Gov’t, since the 2012 Parliamentary race?

Electoral list

More than 3.5 million people are eligible to vote in Georgia in the upcoming elections.

Specifically, Georgia’s Central Election Commission stated 3,513, 884 people are registered to vote in October 8 elections.

Any citizen of Georgia aged 18 or over, who meets the requirements prescribed by the Election Code of Georgia is eligible to vote.

Any citizen of Georgia, having been declared incapable by a court of law, or is currently serving in prison/penitentiary institution in accordance with a court judgment, is not eligible to participate in the elections, except those with minor offenses.

People receiving support as an inpatient from a psychiatric facility are not eligible to vote.

Important dates

September 17 – Registration deadline for voters who are not yet registered with relevant diplomatic mission of Georgia

September 28 – Deadline for local observing organisations to address the CEC for registration to monitor the elections

September 28 – Deadline for parties or candidates to withdraw from the race

October 1 – Deadline for international organisations wishing to monitor the elections to address the CEC for registration

October 8 – Election Day. Polling stations open at 8am and close at 8pm, local time

November 2 – Deadline for holding a second round of majoritarian MP elections (if no candidate gained more than 50 percent of votes in the first round). 

October 27 – Deadline for the CEC to summarise  first round of election results. 

November 21-  Deadline for the CEC to summarise second round of election results.

arrow_prev Back