EU Council adopts final resolution on visa-free travel for Georgia

27 Feb 2017 - 13:57:00

comments powered by Disqus,27 Feb 2017 - 13:57, Tbilisi,Georgia

The Council of the European Union (EU) has adopted a final resolution on lifting visa-requirements for Georgians travelling to the EU for 90 days within any 180-day period today.

Maltese Minister for Home Affairs and National Security Carmelo Abela believes "this agreement will bring the people of Georgia and the EU closer together and will strengthen tourism and business ties".

It follows the completion of the necessary reforms by Georgia, addressing document security, border management, migration and asylum. In addition, the recent adaptation of the suspension mechanism has made this agreement possible", he said after the adoption of the "historic” regulation for Georgia.

Now the Council and the European Parliament (EP), which voted in favour of visa-free travel for Georgian citizens to the Schengen Area on February 2, need to sign the adopted regulation.

The text will then be published in the EU Official Journal and enter into force 20 days later, at the same time as the new visa waiver suspension mechanism.

Georgian Prime Minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili congratulated Georgians in Twitter.

Per the Council’s official webpage Georgia is now moving from the list of countries whose nationals need a visa to enter the Schengen area to a list of countries who have no visa requirements.

Georgian citizens with a biometric passport travelling to the EU for up to 90 days for business, tourist or family purposes will no longer need a visa.

arrow_prev Back