Tbilisi City Assembly convenes for first time after elections

Agenda.ge, 14 Nov 2017 - 16:57, Tbilisi,Georgia

The newly elected Tbilisi City Assembly has held its first meeting today since the October 21 municipal elections.

The meeting was opened by the head of the Central Election Commission, Tamar Zhvania, who summed up the election results. Afterwards, the meeting was led by the oldest member of the City Assembly, Pridon Injia.

At today’s meeting, the Assembly elected its chairperson – Giorgi Tkemaladze from the ruling Georgian Dream party. He served as the deputy to the chairman at the previous assembly.

Tkemaladze’s candidacy was supported by 40 members while one voted against.

Giorgi Tkemaladze (L) is new chairman of Tbilisi City Assembly. Photo: press office.

After being elected, Tkemaladze nominated three candidates to become his deputies. All three of them, Giorgi Akhvlediani (first deputy), Marika Darchia and Davit Ujmajuridze were approved by the majority of votes.

Tbilisi City Assembly consists of 50 members. The results of the municipal elections saw these seats distributed per the following:

  • Georgian Dream – 40 seats
  • United National Movement – 5 seats
  • European Georgia – 3 seats
  • Alliance of Patriots – 2 seats

United National Movement and European Georgia said they would create one faction each. The Alliance of Patriots are not allowed to create a faction since at least three members are needed to set one up. As for the Georgian Dream, the party said it will announce its decision about the formation of factions tomorrow.