Minister says Poland’s and Sweden’s FMs’ visit is a clear signal ahead of EaP summit, 14 Nov 2017 - 14:23, Tbilisi,Georgia

Georgia’s Minister of Foreign Affairs Mikheil Janelidze has met foreign ministers of Poland and Sweden in Tbilisi, and described the arrival as a "clear signal of support” ahead of the EU’s Eastern Partnership (EaP) summit scheduled for November 24.

I am sure the summit will be a success for Georgia, as well as for the EaP and the EU. The summit will once again confirm the support for Georgia’s European intentions and will specify concrete practical steps that will ensure benefits for our people,” Georgia’s foreign minister said.

Janelidze underscored that the arrival of the Foreign Minister of Poland Witold Waszczykowski and Foreign Minister of Sweden Margot Elisabeth Wallstrom several days before the summit is a "clear signal of the support from the nations.”

Georgia's PM met the foreign ministers and thanked them for their support to Georgia. Photo by Prime Minister's press office.

The support is of highest value and we have seen the result of the support. Currently Georgia is an associated partner of the EU, integrated in the EU market with the Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area agreement. Since the implementation of the DCFTA in 2014 the EU has become the number one trade partner for Georgia,” Janelidze said.
The recent report of the European Commission has also approved Georgia is the EU’s key ally in the region,” Janelidze said.

The report was also highlighted at the Polish and Swedish foreign ministers’ meeting with Prime Minister of Georgia Giorgi Kvirikashvili.

Kvirikashvili thanked the ministers for their support prior to the EaP summit and for Georgia’s sovereignty and territorial integrity.

You can count on Poland as a member of the UN Security Council,” the Polish FM said. 

The ministers stated Georgia is a "leader of the EaP” that will be confirmed at the summit in Brussels, Prime Minister’s press office reported.

  • EaP is a joint initiative involving the EU, its Member States and six Eastern European Partners: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova And Ukraine. 
  • It is a specific dimension of the European Neighbourhood Policy.
  • The Eastern Partnership aims at building a common area of shared democracy, prosperity, stability and increased cooperation, the EU official webpage reads.